"Malone's tale maintains a swift pace... [a] boisterous whirl of capers, pranks, and mystery [that] deftly contains Meghan's journey of self-discovery."- Kirkus Reviews
 
 
THE SLEEPOVER
Simon & Schuster/Aladdin
Published May 17, 2016
Hardcover ISBN: 978-1481452618
Paperback ISBN: 978-1481452601
Recommended ages: 8-13

In this tween version of the movie The Hangover, Meghan, Paige, and Anna Marie are super excited for the Best. Night. Ever. The sleepover they’re planning can be nothing short of EPIC. There will be junk food, there will be crazy-scary horror movies, and there will be karaoke smack-downs. Not even the last minute addition of Anna Marie’s socially awkward, soon-to-be-stepsister Veronica can dampen their spirits.

 

But nothing prepares them for the scene that greets them when they awaken the next morning: the basement is a mega disaster zone, Meghan’s left eyebrow has been shaved off, her “pillow” is the prized-possession hoodie of the class rebel who lives next door, and- heavenly heckweasels!- what is the deal with the slew of tiny ducklings in the bathtub!?

 

Worst of all, Anna Marie is missing. As in completely and totally gone-zo. Now the remaining girls have to piece together what exactly happened the night before, in the hopes it will lead them to their missing friend before the parents arrive for pick-ups. If she’s not waiting safe and sound when that doorbell rings, heads will roll and their social life as they know it will cease to exist. Trouble is, none of them can remember anything of the prior evening past that hypnotism trick performed by the two-bit magician Veronica arranged in an effort to impress the other girls.

 

The clock is ticking, the clues are weird and weirder, and one thing is certain: last night got a lot wilder than karaoke and make-your-own-sundeas…

 

"Equal parts mystery, caper, and friendship story, this novel is an inviting choice for fans of Lauren Myracle or Lauren Barnholdt"

-School Library Journal review

 

"Malone delivers plenty of comedic twists, along with avalanches of excrutiatingly mortifying revelations... a fun, if unlikely, middle-grade romp... the whole experience is epic."

-Booklist

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

Did your own sleepover get out of hand?

In The Sleepover, Meghan wakes up with one eyebrow mysteriously shaved off. Yikes! Her mom is definitely going to kill her, which is fine because otherwise she'll die of embarassment when she gets to school on Monday. if you ever find yourself in a similar predicament, WikiHow has some helpful suggestions! Click on this link or any image below to read all nine of their solutions...

Reading with your book club? Download this Discussion Guide!